Governing Board

Welcome to the Governor section of the school website. Our Governors are a key part of the strategic leadership of the school and play a vital role in helping to ensure our children get the best from their time at Priory Rise School.

Governors at the school have three main roles:
• to provide strategic direction for the school;
• to act as a critical friend to the headteacher; and
• to ensure accountability.
The Governing Board of Priory Rise School is a vibrant group of volunteers, who help set and dedicate themselves to the vision, values and strategic direction of the school, maintaining the highest of standards, whilst encouraging continual forward planning and thinking in their drive for excellence. They share responsibilities for monitoring and evaluating the performance of the school in delivering a fulfilling, broad and balanced education for all the children. The Governing Board meets at least 9 times throughout the school year: 1 Full Governing Board meeting, 1 Curriculum Committee meeting and 1 Resources and Facilities Committee meeting per term. All governors are members of both sub-committees.
We have adopted The National Governance Association’s code of conduct. You can read it here:
Associate governors have voting rights on the committee on which they sit, but not on the full governing board meetings.


If you wish to make contact with Kristy Coogan, Chair of Governors please do so by sending a letter in a sealed envelope marked for her attention via the school office, or via email to

Welcome to our Full Governing Board – January 2022: 


Committee Membership Role

Date Appointed

Type of Governor

Term of Office

Pecuniary governance and material interests

Mrs Michele Bullen

English Governor

Health and Safety Governor




Related to staff member


Mrs Kristy Coogan

Chair of Governors

Safeguarding Governor

Mental Health and Wellbeing

14 Oct 2019


As Chair of Governors from 12 Oct 2020 to 11 Oct 2024

Parent of child at the school



Mrs Cath Dobson

Deputy Headteacher


Co-Opted Governor


Deputy Head at Priory Rise School

Mrs Laura Pry

Staff Governor


Staff appointed


Year 6 Class teacher at Priory Rise School


Mrs Maria Minett

Vice Chair of Governors

SEN and Pupil Premium Governor


Parent appointed


Parent of child at the school


Mrs Jo De Fraine

Parent Governor
Parent appointed

 Parent of children at the school

Ms Ruth Seagar

Development Governor




Headteacher at Priory Rise School

Mrs Julia Strong

School Business Manager


Associate Governor


School Business Manager at Priory Rise School

Mr Stephen Whitney

Curriculum Governor




Teacher at a local secondary school

Mrs Sheila Woodhall

Mathematics Governor


LA Appointed


Related to children at the school

Mrs Nancy Masson is the clerk to the governing board.